Skip to main content

Congratulations Class of 2024!

Posted Date: 04/26/2024

Congratulations Class of 2024!

Galway Central School District is pleased to announce the Top 10 Students in the graduating class of 2024. 

Valedictorian Eben Perkins is the son of Leslie and Brandon Perkins of Galway. Eben played varsity soccer for all four years, was captain for two seasons, and was named WAC Second Team All Star. He also ran on the track and field team, claiming second place at Section 2 Finals for pentathlon, and raced on the R-Cubed composite mountain bike team in the New York NICA race series. Eban is captain of the Masterminds team, treasurer of Robotics Club, president of the Ski Club, and a member of Odyssey of the Mind. He also participated in Concert Band and Jazz Band. Eben plans to attend the University of Utah, where he will study mechanical engineering and participate in Army ROTC. 

Salutatorian Carson Eagan is the son of Valerie and Thomas Eagan of West Charlton. He is a three-sport athlete who was captain of the soccer, basketball, and baseball teams. He was awarded WAC All-Star for soccer and baseball. Carson was an academic scholar throughout all four years of high school and won the WAC Scholar Athlete award for the winter sports season. He is also a member of National Honor Society and helps to run Galway High School’s E-Way Cafe. Carson plans to attend the University of Connecticut in the fall and study sport management. 

Aidan Reekie-Mell is a four-year varsity soccer player, one-year track athlete, and four-year member of the Drama Club. He is president of the Robotics Club, anchor of GTV, member of the league-winning Masterminds Team, 13-year member of Galway Odyssey of the Mind, and a four-year member of the Chamber Singers. Outside of school, Aidan is heavily involved with the Galway Players theater group, the Galway American Legion, and the West Charlton Fire Department Auxiliary. Aidan plans to attend the University of Massachusetts Amherst for computer science in the fall. He is the son of Sheena Johnson and Steven Mell of West Charlton

Brooke Padgett, daughter of Jessica Tretola of Middle Grove, challenged herself throughout her high school career. She challenged AP Chemistry and AP Calculus AB, took two independent studies, and completed three college courses over the summer of her junior year. She is head editor of Eagles Media Center, a GTV anchor, and the leader of a Battle of the Books Club for sixth graders. Brooke plans to study physics at Oberlin College, where she received a QuestBridge Match Scholarship.

Abigail Gullett is a three-sport athlete who enjoyed playing soccer, softball, and basketball for four-years. She was a WAC First Team All-Star for soccer as well as a Section 2 Class C All-Star. In softball, she was a two time WAC First Team All-Star. Abigail was captain of the varsity soccer and basketball teams, vice president of her class office, and a member of National Honor Society. She is excited to be attending the University of South Florida in Tampa in the fall. Abigail is the daughter of Michele and David Gullett of Galway

Jackson Flint is a student athlete who played one-year of varsity soccer, two-years of varsity basketball, and three-years of varsity baseball. He is the president of the Leo Club and a member of National Honor Society and Galway’s E-Way Cafe. He will attend Siena College in the fall to pursue a degree in business or marketing. Jackson is the son of Laura and Shane Flint of Galway.

Shamus Evans is the president of National Honor Society, vice president of the senior class, a member of the Galway Junior trap shooting team, and a member of Odyssey of the Mind. He also participated in Band, Marching Band, Jazz Band, Masterminds, and Science Club. Shamus has been an Academic Scholar throughout his high school career. In the fall, Shamus will attend the University of Albany to study electrical and computer engineering. He is the son of Nichole and Shaun Evans of Middle Grove.

Sarah Tarashuk is vice president of National Honor Society, president of Band and Drama Club, news anchor for GTV, and writer for Eagles Media Center. She was a member of Chorus, Chamber Singers, Jazz Band, and held officer positions in Students Against Destructive Decisions, GSA, and Class Office. In the Drama Club productions, she played the Wicked Witch in The Wizard of Oz, Scuttle in The Little Mermaid, and most recently Sharpay in High School Musical. Sarah attended All-County festivals for both band and chorus, NYSSMA, and the North Eastern Instrumental Music Festival. In the fall, she will attend the Crane School of Music at SUNY Potsdam to major in music education. Sarah is the daughter of Kelly and John Tarashuk of West Charlton.

Danielle Gabri is a competitive dancer and captain of the varsity cheerleading team. She danced for nine-years, winning many awards. She was also named MVP and WAC All-Star First Team for cheerleading. Danielle was secretary and treasurer of National Honor Society. She was also sergeant at arms and historian of her Class Office. Danielle will attend the University at Albany in the fall to study math. She is the daughter of Deborah and John Gabri of Galway. 

Amber Kolpakas is a three-sport athlete who played varsity volleyball and softball for five years and varsity basketball for two. She earned many awards throughout her athletic career, such as 2x and 1x League MVP for softball and volleyball, and First and Second Team All-State for volleyball. She was an academic scholar throughout high school and served as treasurer for Class Office and an anchor for GTV. Amber plans to attend the University of Oklahoma in the fall to study meteorology. She is the daughter of Lisa and David Kolpakas of Amsterdam.

Congratulations to the entire Galway High School Class of 2024: 

Colin Anderson

Clark Anuszewski

Torren Beattie

Olivia Berg

William Budlong

Adrienne Carter

Austin Cretty

Marcos Del Rio

Sierra Denison

Korey English

Francesco Fabbri Medina

Alexander Finkenbinder

Alexander Gotzen-Berg

Kelsey Grey

Adam Hay

Alexis Heuser

Carmen Imbo

Melanie Kurtzner

Megan Lacerais

Sara Lacerais

Mike Lopez-Pagan

Adam Loya

Christopher Maher

Aiden Martell

Sarah (Nicholas) McCray

Emma Mitchell

Noah Montague

Trinity Mosher

Ava-Rae Nelson

Natalie Niedhammer

Ian Patterson

Kendra Peterson

Riya Randall

Emma Sickler

Matthew Sleight

Kristen Smith

Aaron Wenk

Hailey Wilson


Galway’s High School graduation will take place on Friday, June 28, 2024 at 10 a.m. in the auditorium. Guests must have a ticket to attend.

A group of students posing for a photo on a playground.